Menu

Focus Santtu-Matias Rouvali: Into the sauna with Sibelius

Santtu-Matias Rouvali is currently in the process of taking off internationally. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna will focus on the young Finnish conductor in 2023/24: Santtu-Matias Rouvali conducting the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra London and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.

© Marco Borggreve

After a concert with the New York Philharmonic, film star Bradley Cooper met conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali and “Vogue” editor Anna Wintour. Wintour immediately loved the young Finn’s shirt and asked: “From Prada?” “No,” Rouvali replied, “from a friend of my mother’s from Lahti.” The “New York Times” reports this in a portrait of the high-flyer on the conductor’s podium. This episode says a lot about the unpretentious, fundamentally likeable artist, born in Lahti in 1985 as the son of two musicians of the city’s symphony orchestra.

It is hardly surprising that he grew into the profession, played the piano early, and learned the violin from his mother. When his parents took little Santtu-Matias to an orchestra rehearsal to save money for the babysitter, he was particularly fascinated by the action in the orchestra, the drums and the conductor. Later he studied percussion but then found that playing triangle can be tedious, and he went to the Finnish conducting forge, the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. He started with Jorma Panula, where greats such as Esa-Pekka Salonen, Susanna Mälkki and Osmo Vänskä learned. Then he moved to Leif Segerstam as a master’s student. In 2013 he appeared in Tampere, the “sauna capital of the world”, in southwestern Finland as chief conductor and artistic director of the orchestra there – and still is today. He lives not far from Tampere, in the countryside, on 14 hectares of woodland. It is the retreat for him and his family. Here, he relaxes as often as he can, enjoys the simple Finnish life, goes hunting and fishing, but only as much as the family needs to eat, grows his vegetables, such as peas, which he particularly loves, goes to the sauna and sleeps a lot.

With the 2017/18 season, he took over as head of the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, with whom he has already made guest appearances in Vienna, just as he made his debut with the Wiener Symphoniker and conducted many other vital orchestras such as the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and the Berlin Philharmonic. With the 2021/22 season, he replaced his compatriot Esa-Pekka Salonen as Principal Conductor of the Philharmonia Orchestra in London.

At the Musikverein he will perform with his Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, including Korngold’s Violin Concerto, played by Arabella Steinbacher. The Philharmonia Orchestra will then perform Shostakovich’s Tenth and Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto with Rudolf Buchbinder as the soloist. After all, Jean Sibelius’s Third Symphony belongs to the Wiener Symphoniker because Santtu-Matias Rouvali always likes to bring a piece of “Finnish identity, a message from Scandinavia”. Of course, this should also be explained to a Central European orchestra, as he revealed on his debut with the Munich Philharmonic BRKlassik. But his powers of persuasion as a conductor probably apply to every orchestra: “70 per cent of our work is that of a psychologist to win over other people for what you want yourself,” says Rouvali – and has unusual ideas. He would like to bring the life and mentality of his homeland closer to those who make music with him, take them to Finland to go to the sauna, swim in the ice-cold water, grill sausages and drink vodka, “and then play Sibelius again after a week”!

Text by Stefan Musil.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Vienna and the Musikverein – a success story through and through. It will be updated in 2023/24. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna presents a Christian Thielemann cycle again this season.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Todd Rosenberg

Riccardo Muti

You would like to have been there in 1973 at the Vienna Philharmonic Ball. The opening was conducted by a not quite 32-year-old Italian, from whom miracles had already been heard: Riccardo Muti. The Musikverein was to become a home for him, a centre of his world career. Fifty years after his debut, the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna is dedicating a seasonal focus to its honorary member: Riccardo Muti in direction.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Mathias Bothor

Karina Canellakis

She is well on her way to conquering the world’s concert stages: The New York conductor Karina Canellakis presents herself as an artist in focus.

Musikverein Wien, red carpet, staircase to the Großer Musikvereinssaal and Brahms Saal

© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

From her native Puglia, Beatrice Rana set out to conquer the classical music world. In 2023/24, the Musikverein will focus on the thirty-year-old pianist and dedicate her focus to her with three programmes in which she can demonstrate her stylistic confidence in a wide-ranging repertoire.

Menü

Fokus Santtu-Matias Rouvali: Mit Sibelius in die Sauna

Santtu-Matias Rouvali ist gerade dabei, international durchzustarten. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien nimmt den jungen finnischen Dirigenten 2023/24 in den Fokus: Santtu-Matias Rouvali am Pult der Göteborger Symphoniker, des Philharmonia Orchestra London und der Wiener Symphoniker.

© Marco Borggreve

Nach einem Konzert mit dem New York Philharmonic traf Filmstar Bradley Cooper gemeinsam mit „Vogue“-Herausgeberin Anna Wintour auf den Dirigenten Santtu-Matias Rouvali. Wintour begeisterte sich sofort für das Hemd des jungen Finnen und fragte: „Von Prada?“ „Nein“, entgegnete Rouvali, „von einer Freundin meiner Mutter aus Lahti.“ So berichtet es die „New York Times“ in einem Porträt über den Senkrechtstarter am Dirigentenpult. Es ist dies eine Episode, die viel aussagt über den unprätentiösen, grundsympathischen Künstler, der 1985 in Lahti als Sohn zweier Musiker des Symphonieorchesters der Stadt geboren wurde. 

Kaum verwunderlich, dass er in den Beruf selbstverständlich hineinwuchs, früh Klavier spielte, von seiner Mutter Geige lernte. Als seine Eltern den kleinen Santtu-Matias dann zu einer Orchesterprobe mitnahmen, um sich das Geld für den Babysitter zu sparen, faszinierte ihn vor allem die Action im Orchester, das Schlagzeug und der Dirigent. Später studierte er daher Schlagzeug, fand aber dann, dass Triangel spielen langweilig werden kann, und ging an die finnische Dirigentenschmiede, die Sibelius-Akademie in Helsinki. Er begann bei Jorma Panula, bei dem Große wie Esa-Pekka Salonen, Susanna Mälkki und Osmo Vänskä gelernt haben. Dann wechselte er als Meisterschüler zu Leif Segerstam. 2013 trat er in Tampere, der „Saunahauptstadt der Welt“, im Südwesten Finnlands als Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Leiter des dortigen Orchesters an – und ist es bis heute. Er wohnt nicht weit von Tampere, auf dem Land, auf 14 Hektar Waldlandschaft. Es ist das Rückzugsgebiet für ihn und seine Familie. Hier erholt er sich, so oft er kann, genießt das einfache finnische Leben, geht jagen und fischen, allerdings nur so viel, wie die Familie zum Essen braucht, baut sein Gemüse an, etwa Erbsen, die er besonders liebt, geht in die Sauna und schläft viel. 

Mit der Saison 2017/18 trat er als Chef bei den Symphonikern in Göteborg an, mit denen er bereits in Wien gastierte, so wie er auch bei den Wiener Symphonikern sein Debüt geben konnte und viele andere bedeutende Klangköper wie das Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, das Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam und die Berliner Philharmoniker geleitet hat. Mit der Saison 2021/22 löste er seinen Landsmann Esa-Pekka Salonen als Principal Conductor des Philharmonia Orchestra in London ab. 

Im Musikverein wird er mit seinen Symphonikern aus Göteborg zu erleben sein, unter anderem mit Korngolds Violinkonzert, gespielt von Arabella Steinbacher. Mit dem Philharmonia Orchestra stehen dann die Zehnte von Schostakowitsch sowie Beethovens Fünftes Klavierkonzert mit Rudolf Buchbinder als Solist auf dem Programm. Den Wiener Symphonikern gehört schließlich die Dritte Symphonie von Jean Sibelius, denn Santtu-Matias Rouvali bringt immer gern ein Stück „finnische Identität, eine Botschaft aus Skandinavien mit“. Diese sollte man freilich einem mitteleuropäischen Orchester auch erklären, wie er zu seinem Debüt bei den Münchner Philharmonikern BRKlassik verriet. Seine Überzeugungskraft als Dirigent gilt aber wohl für jedes Orchester: „70 Prozent unserer Arbeit ist die eines Psychologen, um andere Menschen für das zu gewinnen, was man selbst möchte“, sagt Rouvali – und hat dazu ungewöhnliche Ideen. So würde er gern denen, die mit ihm musizieren, Leben und Mentalität seiner Heimat näherbringen, sie nach Finnland mitnehmen, um in die Sauna zu gehen, im eiskalten Wasser zu schwimmen, Würstchen zu grillen und Wodka zu trinken, „um dann nach einer Woche noch einmal Sibelius zu spielen“!

Ein Text von Stefan Musil.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Wien und der Musikverein – es ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte durch und durch. 2023/24 wird sie fortgeschrieben. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien präsentiert auch in dieser Saison wieder einen Christian-Thielemann-Zyklus.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde
© Todd Rosenberg

Riccardo Muti

Man möchte dabei gewesen sein, 1973, beim Ball der Wiener Philharmoniker. Die Eröffnung dirigierte ein noch nicht ganz 32-jähriger Italiener, von dem man schon Wunderdinge vernommen hatte: Riccardo Muti. Der Musikverein sollte zu einer Heimat für ihn werden, einem Zentrum seiner Weltkarriere. 50 Jahre nach seinem Debüt widmet die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien ihrem Ehrenmitglied einen Saisonschwerpunkt: Riccardo Muti im Fokus.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde
© Mathias Bothor

Karina Canellakis

Sie ist auf dem besten Weg, die Konzertpodien der Welt zu erobern: Die New Yorker Dirigentin Karina Canellakis präsentiert sich als Künstlerin im Fokus.

Musikverein Wien, roter Teppich, Stiegenaufgang zum Grossen Saal und Brahmssaal
© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

Von ihrer Heimat Apulien zog Beatrice Rana aus, die klassische Musikwelt zu erobern. 2023/24 nimmt der Musikverein die dreißigjährige Pianistin in den Fokus und widmet ihr einen eigenen Schwerpunkt mit drei Programmen, in denen sie ihre Stilsicherheit in einem weitgefächerten Repertoire unter Beweis stellen kann.