Menu

Focus Riccardo Muti: Great Moments

You would like to have been there in 1973 at the Vienna Philharmonic Ball. The opening was conducted by a not quite 32-year-old Italian, from whom miracles had already been heard: Riccardo Muti. The Musikverein was to become a home for him, a centre of his world career. Fifty years after his debut, the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna is dedicating a seasonal focus to its honorary member: Riccardo Muti in direction.

© Todd Rosenberg

It is impossible to quantify how strongly Riccardo Muti has shaped concert life at the Musikverein for five decades. But they still say a lot: Muti has conducted the Großer Musikvereinssaal in no less than 195 concerts – with the focus concerts of the 2023/24 season, he will exceed the magic number of 200. A two-day guest performance with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra marks the beginning of the series. But, of course, one can interpret it symbolically when “From Italy” is on the programme for the first programme, Richard Strauss’s “Symphonic Fantasy”. From a young age, Muti says, he conducted the work in his hometown of Naples. In the third movement, “On the beach of Sorrento”, the orchestra grumbled. Where, the knowledgeable Italians asked, is there a beach in Sorrento? Well, the topography of art is different. According to her, Vienna also borders directly on Italy. No musician today represents this close relationship as intimately, no one lives it as intensely as Riccardo Muti.

The fact that Schubert’s Overture “in the Italian Style”, D 591, is on the programme in the last concert of his Focus series is an excellent sign of this. And then, of course, Mozart, who has so much Italian in his musical language! Is it still necessary to explain in Vienna the dedication with which Muti repeatedly devotes himself to Mozart’s oeuvre? The older he gets, the more challenging dealing with such a genius becomes. “It’s like climbing a mountain,” says Riccardo Muti. “The higher you get, the wider the horizon opens.” The Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini will be Muti’s partner with Schubert and Mozart, the fantastic Italian youth orchestra founded by Riccardo Muti twenty years ago. Sharing his experience and passing on his knowledge is a mission that Riccardo Muti pursues with passion and great charisma.

In general, these five concerts reflect much of the eminent artistic spectrum of the maestro, and with perhaps surprising aspects. Conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Muti presents not only classics of orchestral brilliance such as Stravinsky’s “Firebird” suite and Prokofiev’s “Fifth”, but also a new work by Philip Glass and – for the first time at the Musikverein – Symphony No. 3 by the highly remarkable Florence Price. Premiered in 1940, this work was the first symphony by an African-American woman to be played by a major orchestra in the United States. With Muti on the podium, we can now experience what a strong, unmistakable voice this brought to the world of music.

© Todd Rosenberg

If the focus is on Riccardo Muti, the orchestra he describes as the “orchestra of my life” belongs to a particular place: the Vienna Philharmonic. In 1971, Herbert von Karajan founded the liaison – a love story to this day. Acknowledgements of affection are also repeatedly found through concert events with historical significance, such as now when Riccardo Muti conducts the anniversary performance of Beethoven’s “Nine” in the Musikverein, precisely 200 years after its premiere. “I am deeply touched and honoured that the Vienna Philharmonic and the Musikverein invited me to do so,” says Muti. The “Ninth”: a masterpiece that Riccardo Muti stood in amazement at for many years before he plucked up the courage to conduct it. He says the beginning is “one of the most magical and unpredictable moments in music”. He wrote a poet’s word on the first page of his score. Translated, it means: “Silence. Night. The Void listens to God, and one star speaks to another.” It is this magical emptiness that opens space to the universe. In the Musikverein Wien, you can look forward to great moments in this sense.

Text by Joachim Reiber.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Vienna and the Musikverein – a success story through and through. It will be updated in 2023/24. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna presents a Christian Thielemann cycle again this season.

Musikverein Wien, red carpet, staircase to the Großer Musikvereinssaal and Brahms Saal

© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

From her native Puglia, Beatrice Rana set out to conquer the classical music world. In 2023/24, the Musikverein will focus on the thirty-year-old pianist and dedicate her focus to her with three programmes in which she can demonstrate her stylistic confidence in a wide-ranging repertoire.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Mathias Bothor

Karina Canellakis

She is well on her way to conquering the world’s concert stages: The New York conductor Karina Canellakis presents herself as an artist in focus.

Musikverein Wien, red carpet, staircase to the Großer Musikvereinssaal and Brahms Saal

© Marco Borggreve

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Santtu-Matias Rouvali is currently in the process of taking off internationally. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna will focus on the young Finnish conductor in 2023/24: Santtu-Matias Rouvali conducting the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra London and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.

Menü

Fokus Riccardo Muti: Sternstunden

Man möchte dabei gewesen sein, 1973, beim Ball der Wiener Philharmoniker. Die Eröffnung dirigierte ein noch nicht ganz 32-jähriger Italiener, von dem man schon Wunderdinge vernommen hatte: Riccardo Muti. Der Musikverein sollte zu einer Heimat für ihn werden, einem Zentrum seiner Weltkarriere. 50 Jahre nach seinem Debüt widmet die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien ihrem Ehrenmitglied einen Saisonschwerpunkt: Riccardo Muti im Fokus.

© Todd Rosenberg

In Zahlen ist nicht zu ermessen, wie stark Riccardo Muti seit nunmehr fünf Jahrzehnten das Konzertleben im Musikverein prägt. Aber sie sagen trotzdem einiges aus: Nicht weniger als 195 Konzerte sind es, bei denen Muti am Pult des Großen Musikvereinssaals stand – mit den Fokus-Konzerten der Saison 2023/24 wird er die magische Zahl von 200 überschreiten. Ein zweitägiges Gastspiel mit dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra steht am Beginn der Reihe, und natürlich darf man’s symbolisch deuten, wenn gleich beim ersten Programm „Aus Italien“ auf dem Programm steht, die „Symphonische Fantasie“ von Richard Strauss. Schon in jungen Jahren, erzählt Muti, dirigierte er das Werk in seiner Heimatstadt Neapel. Beim dritten Satz, „Am Strande von Sorrent“, kam Murren im Orchester auf. Wo bitte, fragten die kundigen Italiener, gäbe es einen Strand in Sorrent? Nun denn: Die Topographie der Kunst ist eine andere. Ihr zufolge grenzt auch Wien direkt an Italien. Kein Musiker repräsentiert dieses Naheverhältnis heute so innig, keiner lebt es so intensiv wie Riccardo Muti.

Dass im letzten Konzert seiner Fokus-Reihe Schuberts Ouvertüre „im italienischen Stile“, D 591, auf dem Programm steht, ist dafür ein schönes Zeichen. Und dann natürlich Mozart, der in seiner musikalischen Sprache so viel Italienisches hat! Muss man in Wien noch erläutern, mit welcher Hingabe sich Muti immer wieder dem OEuvre Mozarts widmet? Je älter er werde, umso herausfordernder werde der Umgang mit einem solchen Genie. „Es ist, wie wenn Sie einen Berg hinaufsteigen“, sagt Riccardo Muti. „Je höher Sie kommen, desto weiter öffnet sich der Horizont.“ Das Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini wird Mutis Partner bei Schubert und Mozart sein, das fantastische italienische Jugendorchester, das Riccardo Muti vor zwanzig Jahren gegründet hat. Seine Erfahrung zu teilen, sein Wissen weiterzugeben ist eine Mission, die Riccardo Muti mit Leidenschaft und großer Ausstrahlung verfolgt.

Überhaupt spiegeln diese fünf Konzerte viel vom eminenten künstlerischen Spektrum des Maestro, und das auch mit vielleicht überraschenden Aspekten. Am Pult des Chicago Symphony Orchestra präsentiert Muti nicht nur Klassiker orchestraler Brillanz wie Strawinskys „Feuervogel“-Suite und Prokofjews „Fünfte“, sondern auch ein neues Werk von Philip Glass und – erstmals im Musikverein – die Symphonie Nr. 3 der höchst bemerkenswerten Florence Price. 1940 uraufgeführt, war dieses Werk die erste Symphonie einer afroamerikanischen Frau, die von einem größeren Orchester in den USA gespielt wurde. Mit Muti am Pult ist nun zu erleben, welch starke, unverwechselbare Stimme dadurch in die Musikwelt kam.

© Todd Rosenberg

Wenn Riccardo Muti im Fokus steht, dann gehört jenem Orchester ein Sonderplatz, das Muti selbst als das „Orchester meines Lebens“ bezeichnet: den Wiener Philharmonikern. 1971 war es Herbert von Karajan, der die Liaison gestiftet hat – eine Liebesgeschichte bis heute. Bekenntnisse der Zugewandtheit werden da auch immer wieder durch Konzertereignisse mit historischer Tragweite formuliert, so wie jetzt, wenn Riccardo Muti im Musikverein die Jubiläumsaufführung von Beethovens „Neunter“ dirigiert, genau 200 Jahre nach ihrer Uraufführung. „Ich bin tief berührt und geehrt, dass die Wiener Philharmoniker und der Musikverein mich dazu eingeladen haben“, sagt Muti. Die „Neunte“: ein Gipfelwerk, vor dem Riccardo Muti lange Jahre staunend stand, bevor er den Mut fasste, es zu dirigieren. Allein der Beginn, sagt er, sei „einer der magischsten und am wenigsten planbaren Momente der Musik“. In seine Partitur hat er auf die erste Seite ein Dichterwort geschrieben. Übersetzt heißt es: „Stille. Nacht. Die Leere lauscht auf Gott, und ein Stern spricht zum anderen.“ Es ist diese magische Leere, die den Raum öffnet fürs Universum. Im Musikverein darf man sich, auch in diesem Sinn, auf Sternstunden freuen. 

Ein Text von Joachim Reiber.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Wien und der Musikverein – es ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte durch und durch. 2023/24 wird sie fortgeschrieben. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien präsentiert auch in dieser Saison wieder einen Christian-Thielemann-Zyklus.

Musikverein Wien, roter Teppich, Stiegenaufgang zum Grossen Saal und Brahmssaal

© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

Von ihrer Heimat Apulien zog Beatrice Rana aus, die klassische Musikwelt zu erobern. 2023/24 nimmt der Musikverein die dreißigjährige Pianistin in den Fokus und widmet ihr einen eigenen Schwerpunkt mit drei Programmen, in denen sie ihre Stilsicherheit in einem weitgefächerten Repertoire unter Beweis stellen kann.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde

© Mathias Bothor

Karina Canellakis

Sie ist auf dem besten Weg, die Konzertpodien der Welt zu erobern: Die New Yorker Dirigentin Karina Canellakis präsentiert sich als Künstlerin im Fokus.

Musikverein Wien, roter Teppich, Stiegenaufgang zum Grossen Saal und Brahmssaal

© Marco Borggreve

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Santtu-Matias Rouvali ist gerade dabei, international durchzustarten. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien nimmt den jungen finnischen Dirigenten 2023/24 in den Fokus: Santtu-Matias Rouvali am Pult der Göteborger Symphoniker, des Philharmonia Orchestra London und der Wiener Symphoniker.