Menu

With mind and feeling

She is well on her way to conquering the world’s concert stages: The New York conductor Karina Canellakis presents herself as an artist in focus. Karina Canellakis proved that she had extraordinary talent and strong nerves when she stepped in for Nikolaus Harnoncourt at short notice in 2015.

© Mathias Bothor

Again and again, she has proven herself in the spearhead position. She was the first woman invited to conduct the Nobel Prize concert in Stockholm and was the first female conductor to be entrusted with the First Night of the Proms in London. Finally, the Singverein of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna also experienced Karina Canellakis as the first woman to conduct the podium. When she performed Beethoven’s Ninth with the Wiener Symphoniker on Beethoven Day in June 2021 – a significant media event against the backdrop of Belvedere Palace – many experienced choir members were thrilled at how competence and specific sensitivity merged into a beautiful, nuanced interpretation.

Since winning the Sir Georg Solti Award in 2016, New York City-born Karina Canellakis has positioned herself equally in the New and Old Worlds. She has worked with the Cleveland and Philadelphia Orchestras, the Boston and Chicago Symphony Orchestras, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra; his debut with the New York Philharmonic and the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra is already scheduled. In her early forties, the daughter of a conductor and a pianist can look back on an impressive career with a solid violin-playing foundation. Hilary Hahn was the idol of her childhood. However, she had already completed a conducting course at twelve and was fascinated by the scores. After completing her studies at the Curtis Institute of Music, she joined the orchestra, was a member of the Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker for two years and gained experience as a soloist, guest concertmaster and chamber musician. Then, encouraged by her mentor Sir Simon Rattle, she dared to take the step to the conductor’s podium.

Karina Canellakis proved that she had extraordinary talent and strong nerves when she stepped in at short notice for Nikolaus Harnoncourt in the summer of 2015. After a personal briefing by the master, who generously left the score he had set up to the young colleague for study, the newcomer celebrated her European debut: with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and a unique Dvořák programme, which, in the “Nikoloic” way, did not focus on the popular. Since then, Canellakis, the child of an immigrant family with Greek-Russian roots, has made a lasting name in the Old World. The following year, she was allowed to replace the recently deceased Nikolaus Harnoncourt again as part of the Beethoven cycle with the Concentus Musicus, with which she performed Symphonies 1 and 8 as well as 2 and 7.

In the meantime, the New Yorker has put down roots in Europe. She lives in Amsterdam with her German husband. Since 2019 she has been chief conductor of the Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra, with whom she also develops staged opera productions. She is also the principal guest conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin.

With the first two ensembles, she will also be a guest at the Musikverein next season as an artist in focus. Canellakis has already got to know the Golden Hall as a violinist. Now, as a conductor, she will perform five concerts with four different programs, in which, in addition to Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms, works of the Second Viennese School and Modernism will find their due place. The Wiener Symphoniker and the ORF RSO Vienna will also be there again. And the Singverein can look forward to the next meeting – this time at Janáček’s “Glagolitic Mass”.

Text by Monika Mertl.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Vienna and the Musikverein – a success story through and through. It will be updated in 2023/24. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna presents a Christian Thielemann cycle again this season.

Musikverein Wien, interior, Großer Musikvereinssaal, Golden Hall, architecture, organ, rows of seats, seating, ceiling painting

© Todd Rosenberg

Riccardo Muti

You would like to have been there in 1973 at the Vienna Philharmonic Ball. The opening was conducted by a not quite 32-year-old Italian, from whom miracles had already been heard: Riccardo Muti. The Musikverein was to become a home for him, a centre of his world career. Fifty years after his debut, the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna is dedicating a seasonal focus to its honorary member: Riccardo Muti in direction.

Musikverein Wien, red carpet, staircase to the Großer Musikvereinssaal and Brahms Saal

© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

From her native Puglia, Beatrice Rana set out to conquer the classical music world. In 2023/24, the Musikverein will focus on the thirty-year-old pianist and dedicate her focus to her with three programmes in which she can demonstrate her stylistic confidence in a wide-ranging repertoire.

Musikverein Wien, red carpet, staircase to the Großer Musikvereinssaal and Brahms Saal

© Marco Borggreve

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Santtu-Matias Rouvali is currently in the process of taking off internationally. The Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna will focus on the young Finnish conductor in 2023/24: Santtu-Matias Rouvali conducting the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra London and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.

Menü

Mit Verstand und Gefühl

Sie ist auf dem besten Weg, die Konzertpodien der Welt zu erobern: Die New Yorker Dirigentin Karina Canellakis präsentiert sich als Künstlerin im Fokus. Dass sie nicht nur über außergewöhnliches Talent, sondern auch über starke Nerven verfügt, bewies Karina Canellakis, als sie 2015 kurzfristig für Nikolaus Harnoncourt einsprang.

© Mathias Bothor

Immer wieder hat sie sich in der Speerspitzen-Position bewährt. So war sie als erste Frau eingeladen, das Nobelpreis- Konzert in Stockholm zu leiten, und sie war die erste Dirigentin, der man in London die First Night of the Proms anvertraute. Nicht zuletzt erlebte auch der Singverein der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien mit Karina Canellakis erstmals eine Frau am Pult. Als sie mit den Wiener Symphonikern zum Beethoven-Tag im Juni 2021 Beethovens Neunte zur Aufführung brachte – ein mediales Großereignis vor der Kulisse des Schlosses Belvedere – war so manches erfahrene Chormitglied begeistert, wie hier Kompetenz und spezifische Sensitivität zu einer ungewöhnlich schönen, feinen Interpretation verschmolzen. 

Seit sie 2016 den Sir Georg Solti Award gewann, hat sich die aus New York City gebürtige Karina Canellakis in der Neuen wie in der Alten Welt gleichermaßen positioniert. Sie hat mit dem Cleveland und dem Philadelphia Orchestra sowie dem Boston und dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra ebenso gearbeitet wie mit dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks und dem London Symphony Orchestra; der Einstand beim New York Philharmonic und beim Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra ist bereits programmiert. Mit Anfang vierzig kann die Tochter eines Dirigenten und einer Pianistin auf eine beeindruckende Karriere verweisen, die ihre solide Basis im Violinspiel hat. Hilary Hahn war das Idol ihrer Kindheit. Allerdings hatte sie schon mit zwölf auch einen Dirigierkurs absolviert und war fasziniert von Partituren. Nach Abschluss ihres Studiums am Curtis Institute of Music ging sie daher ins Orchester, war zwei Jahre lang Mitglied der Orchesterakademie der Berliner Philharmoniker und sammelte Erfahrungen als Solistin, Gastkonzertmeisterin und Kammermusikerin. Danach wagte sie, ermuntert von ihrem Mentor Sir Simon Rattle, den Schritt ans Dirigentenpult.

Dass sie nicht nur über außergewöhnliches Talent, sondern auch über starke Nerven verfügt, bewies Karina Canellakis, als sie im Sommer 2015 kurzfristig für Nikolaus Harnoncourt einsprang. Nach einem persönlichen Briefing durch den Meister, der der jungen Kollegin großzügig auch die von ihm eingerichtete Partitur zum Studium überließ, feierte die Newcomerin ihr Europa-Debüt: mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und einem ungewöhnlichen Dvořák-Programm, das nach „nikoloischer“ Art nicht aufs Populäre schielte. Seither hat sich Canellakis, Kind einer Einwandererfamilie mit griechisch-russischen Wurzeln, in der Alten Welt dauerhaft behauptet. Im folgenden Jahr durfte sie den kurz zuvor verstorbenen Nikolaus Harnoncourt gleich nochmals vertreten, diesmal im Rahmen des Beethoven-Zyklus mit dem Concentus Musicus, mit dem sie die Symphonien 1 und 8 sowie 2 und 7 zur Aufführung brachte. 

Inzwischen hat die New Yorkerin in Europa Wurzeln geschlagen. Mit ihrem deutschen Mann lebt sie in Amsterdam. Hier ist sie seit 2019 Chefdirigentin des Niederländischen Radio-Symphonieorchesters, mit dem sie auch szenische Opernproduktionen erarbeitet. Überdies wirkt sie als Erste Gastdirigentin des London Philharmonic Orchestra und des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Berlin. 

Mit den beiden erstgenannten Ensembles wird sie als Künstlerin im Fokus kommende Saison auch im Musikverein zu Gast sein. Den Goldenen Saal hat Canellakis als Geigerin bereits kennengelernt. Nun wird sie hier als Dirigentin fünf Konzerte mit vier verschiedenen Programmen gestalten, in denen neben Mozart, Beethoven und Brahms auch Werke der Zweiten Wiener Schule und der Moderne gebührenden Platz finden. Mit dabei sind auch wieder die Wiener Symphoniker sowie das ORF RSO Wien. Und der Singverein darf sich auf die nächste Begegnung freuen – diesmal bei Janáčeks „Glagolitischer Messe“. 

Ein Text von Monika Mertl.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde

© Dieter Nagl

Christian Thielemann

Christian Thielemann, Wien und der Musikverein – es ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte durch und durch. 2023/24 wird sie fortgeschrieben. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien präsentiert auch in dieser Saison wieder einen Christian-Thielemann-Zyklus.

Musikverein Wien, Innenaufnahme, Grosser Saal, Goldener Saal, Architektur, Orgel, Sitzreihen, Bestuhlung, Deckengemälde

© Todd Rosenberg

Riccardo Muti

Man möchte dabei gewesen sein, 1973, beim Ball der Wiener Philharmoniker. Die Eröffnung dirigierte ein noch nicht ganz 32-jähriger Italiener, von dem man schon Wunderdinge vernommen hatte: Riccardo Muti. Der Musikverein sollte zu einer Heimat für ihn werden, einem Zentrum seiner Weltkarriere. 50 Jahre nach seinem Debüt widmet die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien ihrem Ehrenmitglied einen Saisonschwerpunkt: Riccardo Muti im Fokus.

Musikverein Wien, roter Teppich, Stiegenaufgang zum Grossen Saal und Brahmssaal

© Simon Fowler | Warner Classics

Beatrice Rana

Von ihrer Heimat Apulien zog Beatrice Rana aus, die klassische Musikwelt zu erobern. 2023/24 nimmt der Musikverein die dreißigjährige Pianistin in den Fokus und widmet ihr einen eigenen Schwerpunkt mit drei Programmen, in denen sie ihre Stilsicherheit in einem weitgefächerten Repertoire unter Beweis stellen kann.

Musikverein Wien, roter Teppich, Stiegenaufgang zum Grossen Saal und Brahmssaal

© Marco Borggreve

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Santtu-Matias Rouvali ist gerade dabei, international durchzustarten. Die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien nimmt den jungen finnischen Dirigenten 2023/24 in den Fokus: Santtu-Matias Rouvali am Pult der Göteborger Symphoniker, des Philharmonia Orchestra London und der Wiener Symphoniker.